Patience My Dear Child

I thought I was having my final nutritional visit, but I was in and out of the office in 30 minutes. It was sort of disappointing but the nutritionist wasn’t happy that I had stopped exercising and I gained 3 pounds. She was also a little concerned that I hadn’t completely decided on if I want sleeve gastrectomy or roux-en y (gastric bypass) so she scheduled me for what she directly told me was my final review on Monday, February 18th. At this appointment she would like me to have decided the surgery that I would like and we will review the patient handbook that outlines my  pre-op diet and then we will also go through the other post-op phases. After that my understanding is that I’ll have my papers submitted to the insurance for approval.

I also had confirmed a few months ago that I have what is known as a chiari malformation type I , this is a birth defect where my brain in low in my skull and it crowds my spinal cord and blocks spinal cord fluid. This was discovered because I was having horrible headaches and then I started having tingling in my arms and fingers , also dropping things. The headaches were horrible and I always thought they were migraines or high blood pressure which is scary because I have a huge family history of strokes. Turns out I was wrong…so the plot thickens. 🙂

So on Thursday I say a neurosurgeon that my neurologist referred and he recommended that I have surgery over the summer to make room for the fluid and for everything to fit because as I age my symptoms will progress.(guys this is the cliff notes version)

I feel that currently because I’m so far in this process I’m going to continue with my weightloss surgery and also seek a second opinion regarding my Chiari, because thought my symptoms may worsen, they may not, and I’m not crazy about the idea of having brain surgery.  So who knows…… Uh, I’m frustrated and overwhelmed by all of this. So that’s that AND please let me know where you are in your process, I’d love to hear about it! 

One Love!

-J.

14 thoughts on “Patience My Dear Child

  1. losingwithivy says:

    I hope that your nutritionist gets her act together. I don’t think she can rush you into making a decision which procedure. That should be the surgeon right.
    Sorry about the wt gain but if your anything like me gaining three pounds is nothing compared to the damage i could have done.
    Good luck with the neuro. I wish you the best. Hope it all works out.

    I.am in the middle of my pre op diet still doing tests and stuff, liking at surgery mid may.

    Brett of luck

  2. angeljen says:

    Hey,
    I guess I’m in the beginning of my pre op diet. For the next 8 weeks I have to eat soups and shakes. It’s not going to be easy but I know I can do it. I will be following your journey. 🙂 Take care,
    Jennifer

  3. dlleatherman says:

    Hi!
    Don’t let the nutritionist make you feel rushed. You need to make the decision when you are ready… after you’ve done your research and feel 100% confident in you choice. This is YOUR body… not her’s. Doing a lot of research on my own and then asking tons of questions helped me choose which surgery I want. Good luck in your journey!
    I heard back from my insurance today (finally! I don’t have much patience either.) and I’m getting Gastric By-Pass surgery on March 5th! 🙂 I start my 2 week liquid diet next Tuesday. I can’t wait!
    Dana

  4. Erika says:

    So I’m currently finished with all my requirements, but have to wait for my urea breath test on the 7th to make sure my H Pylori is gone. We don’t have it set in stone, but my surgeon says april 9th is mine unless we hit any bumps in the road.

  5. Lobo Loco says:

    Do you have a surgery date yet? Don’t worry too much about the weight gain. I gained weight during the process, so my surgeon made me do 4 weeks of the Optifast 800 diet before surgery. I lost 30 pounds on it!

  6. Karen says:

    Hello Sister in weight loss!
    I have a condition called Idiopathic inter-cranial Hypertension, which is similar to your condition. But I have too much fluid and it caused headaches. I’ve been treated for this for two years and since my little weight loss and surgery, it’s almost gone. I’m down from four tablets per day to one. Another weight loss triumph xxx

    • Smilejoelle says:

      Hi Karen, thank you so much for stopping by and reading and sharing your condition, I’m happy to know that the surgery has improved it. Though it was a bit alarming to hear about the Chiari, it was also liberating to know that all of the symptoms that I was experiencing were not all in my head. I’m really praying that my weight loss will also help some of my symptoms as well!

Leave a comment